Safe and high quality care and support

The Care Certificate

The Care Certificate is an identified set of standards that health and social care workers adhere to in their daily working life. Designed with the non-regulated workforce in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate is based on 15 standards, all of which individuals need to complete in full before they can be awarded their certificate:

  • Understand your role
  • Your personal development 
  • Duty of care
  • Equality and diversity
  • Work in a person centred way
  • Communication 
  • Privacy and dignity 
  • Fluids and nutrition
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability
  • Safeguarding adults
  • Safeguarding Children
  • Basic Life Support 
  • Health and Safety 
  • Handling information 
  • Infection prevention and control 

Each standard is underpinned by full learning outcomes and assessment criteria.

A selection of materials is available to support you as you implement the Care Certificate in your workplace.


Further resources

  • FAQs

  • Code of Conduct for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers

  • The Care Certificate - Setting the standards for frontline care

  • Supporting the Care Certificate

    We work hard to improve the quality of training provision available to healthcare support workers and to ensure managers know how and where they can access great training for their staff.

    The National Skills Academy for Health are developing a network of Excellence Centres and approved delivery partners put employers in charge of local learning, helping you to share scarce resources and to develop and deliver cost-effective training to meet Care Certificate requirements.

    In addition, the Skills for Health Quality Mark, provides a framework that defines and endorses superior learning and training standards that healthcare employers need to cultivate a world-class workforce.

    By selecting a provider who holds the Quality Mark for your Care Certificate development programmes, you can be sure that the training will be of a consistent high quality and will demonstrate to your community your commitment to excellence in workforce development and patient care.

  • Elearning

    As part of our continuing development of our elearning, Skills for Health has developed a range of elearning that supports the Care Certificate. Download our new Elearning brochure or found out more about our Elearning.

The Care Certificate was developed, as part of the Cavendish Review work, jointly by Skills for Health, Health Education England and Skills for Care. It:

  • applies across health and social care
  • links to National Occupational Standards and units in qualifications
  • covers what is required to be caring, giving workers a good basis from which they can further develop their knowledge and skills