Core Skills Training Framework® overview


By Skills for Health | 1 December 2023

What is the Core Skills Training Framework®?

The Core Skills Training Framework (CSTF) was first developed in 2013 and has become widely recognised as the trusted standard for statutory and mandatory training in the health sector. It helps guide and standardise the focus and the delivery of key statutory and mandatory training skills.

It was developed in collaboration with employers, industry leading experts and professional bodies, such as the Resuscitation Council and the Infection Prevention Society.

Why is it important?

Across the UK, Healthcare staff must undertake statutory and mandatory training and healthcare organisations must be able to prove their compliance on an individual, team and organisational level.

By sharing this information, employer organisations can recognise where training delivered in other organisations is in compliance with the statutory and mandatory CSTF and thereby help to prevent unnecessary duplication of training as staff move between roles and organisations.

John Rogers, CEO, Skills for Health

In England, The Care Quality Commission (CQC) are the independent regulator of health and adult social care, formed to monitor and inspect health and social care providers. Employers must be able to evidence that they meet the CQC Fundamental Standards and that they have enough suitably qualified, competent and experienced staff to provide safe and effective care. The CSTF can support employers in evidencing to the CQC that they are meeting these obligations.

Using the CSTF offers various benefits, but the key advantage is that it promotes consistent approaches, making skills more transferable within the healthcare system.

What does it help with?

It can be used by any healthcare employer in the United Kingdom including NHS, independent and voluntary providers to help with:

  • Making sure that training delivers statutory or mandatory learning outcomes
  • Understanding the frequency of refresher training and/or assessments
  • Guidance on training delivery

What areas of training are covered in the CSTF?

The CSTF consists of 11 core subjects for England that cover essential skills and knowledge for safe and effective working environments.

  • Equality, diversity and human rights
  • Health, safety and welfare
  • Conflict resolution
  • Fire safety
  • Infection prevention and control
  • Moving and handling
  • Safeguarding adults
  • Preventing radicalisation
  • Safeguarding children
  • Resuscitation
  • Information governance

Is the CSTF being developed or reviewed?

It’s being reviewed, Skills for Health continues to maintain and update the framework with support from subject matter experts.

Find out more about the CSTF >

Registration of interest

The CSTF is currently under review. If you wish to receive updates on this project, please enter your details here:


What the next general election could mean for the health and care sector  

Tam Whipp joins Skills for Health as a Technical Consultant 

Why the NHS Needs Workforce Planning More Than Ever 

Get the latest updates by email

Sign up to our monthly newsletter to receive the latest updates straight to your inbox. We’ll keep you up to date with sector news, insights, intelligence reports, service updates and special offers on our services and solutions.

Sign up to our newsletter