18th September 2020

coachingHere at Skills for Health we champion the benefits of workforce development and learning based on ensuring a nationally recognised level of competence for a particular task or job. As the Sector Skills Council for Health we develop and maintain these competences, the National Occupational Standards (NOS), for healthcare occupations across the UK.

As the needs of the sector shift, work patterns change, and as new operational practices, legislation and technologies are introduced, we are responsible for ensuring that these NOS remain useful, effective, and fit for purpose.

This year, and due to be completed by March 2021, we are pleased to be currently reviewing 95 of the most commonly used NOS, spread over 9 specific areas of the UK health sector, to inform workforce development activity, in particular, apprenticeships and qualifications for Healthcare Support Workers.

Included are a selection from the following suites:

  • Clinical Health Skills
  • Children and Young People’s Health Services
  • Diabetes
  • Endoscopy
  • Emergency, Urgent and Scheduled Care
  • General Healthcare
  • Health Informatics
  • Infection Prevention and Control
  • Perioperative Care Support

It is now vital that we gain the views and expertise of those working in these specialties, from all four home nations, to ensure that the NOS are applicable and transferable across the UK.

To have your say, and feedback on the standards relevant to you and your work, please find details of how to contribute with our consultation here, which is open until midday on Friday 2nd October, 2020.