ohh title


Image: Twitter.

Sponsored by:
Image: Unision logo.

Staff retention

12 Regional Winners and 1 National Winner

The Operational Services Support Worker of the Year 2018 Award recognises the significant contribution operational services support workers make to the health sector. This part of the workforce facilitates the effective delivery of high quality healthcare practices but don’t always get the recognition they deserve.

National Winner

Among the seven national winners announced during the ceremony was Margaret Canavan, from Belfast. Margaret, affectionately known as Mags to her colleagues, was nominated in the Operational Services Support Worker of the Year category for her long-standing commitment to improving the lives of patients through her work.

Margaret has worked in the NHS for 25 years and has spent the last 12 years developing her role as ward housekeeper for Belfast City Hospital.

Recently Margaret recognised the need to engage patients, especially those with a dementia or delirium diagnosis, in complementary activities to support their healthcare. She researched activities which would be most beneficial, identified an unused room within the ward and ordered the necessary equipment to get started.

Patients and staff alike have commented positively about the activity room and Margaret’s passion for making a difference has resulted in similar activity rooms being set up in care of the elderly wards across the trust. As well as sharing her research and resources, Margaret has been instrumental in setting up the new rooms with other teams.

   Meet the finalists